Vila Times

US unhappy with EU blacklisting ‘tax havens’ American Samoa and Guam

Vila Times’s Mobile Application

The US Treasury Secretary has objected to the European Union’s decision to put American Samoa and Guam on its blacklist of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions.

Steven Mnuchin has written to the Secretary-General of the Council of the EU, recommending the two US territories be removed from the list, RNZI reports.

Mr Mnuchin said as US territories, American Samoa and Guam participated in the international community through the United States.

As we have reported, in December 2017 the European Union adopted a new blacklist of 17 tax havens and a ‘grey list’ of 44 countries and jurisdictions that will have to take measures against tax evasion and tax avoidance.

Vanuatu is in European Union’s ‘grey list’ together with Fiji and Cook Islands. Not to get in the black list, Vanuatu has to meet EU’s tax rules by the end of 2018. Although, Fiji and Vanuatu, as developing nations, will have an extra year after that to meet the standards before they will appear in the black list.

A of the Pacific Island countries are in EU’s black list: Samoa and American Samoa, Guam, the Marshal Islands and Palau.