Vila Times

Vanuatu abstained from the U.N.’s Jerusalem vote

Vila Times’s Mobile Application

Four Pacific nations sided with U.S. and Israel on a U.N. General Assembly resolution declaring “null and void” President Trump’s recognition of Jerusalem as Israel’s capital.

These Pacific countries are Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru and Palau. Other countries that supported the resolution were Guatemala, Honduras and Togo.

Another 35 nations, including Vanuatu, abstained from the 128-9 vote.

Among those that abstain, are the United States closest neighbors, Canada and Mexico. The others are allies across the globe.